Exams and Linkspams

See what I did there? It rhymes!

I’ve been reading some really great posts lately, in between exam revision, so I thought I’d share some of the ones that stood out for me.

I really empathised with this post by Unladylike Musings on rude men and rape culture.

I do almost everything to avoid drawing attention to myself at night.  Everything except look at people.  There was nothing I was doing to draw this mans attention to me. I refuse to stop looking people in the eyes when I walk around and though I don’t really feel like being a nice person right now I refuse stop doing that as well.

Coincidentally, the day after I read it a man came up to me and shouted “swing higher, bitch” at me several times  at me while I was swinging in the park in the evening. This post really resonates with my own thoughts on the matter.

A post from Confessions of a Stuffed Olive on one of the literary tropes about romantic relationships that I detest the most: The Mr Darcy Effect. And here, a follow up post on why “oh, he’s just being mean to you because he likes you” is such a bullshit idea.

I Wouldn’t Have It Any Other Way writes about how asking “you look great, have you lost weight?” is just social shaming in disguise.

When we tell someone, “you look great! Did you lose weight,” we are actually telling them that they didn’t look great with the weight they were before. That somehow, they were “less than” before.

A brilliant and personal post by Sarah Over The Moon on different types of privilege:

I can be oppressed and I can be an oppressor. I can be both at the same time because I am white and I am a woman. Neither of those two parts of my identity are more important than the other. If I ignore my whiteness and only claim my woman-ness, I ignore the ways in which I perpetuate white supremacy.

Two posts on negotiating and becoming feminist: Unladylike Musings (again!) on the women who allowed her to discover herself as a feminist, and a post by the University of Idaho’s Women’s Centre on Lipstick Feminists.

This post is required reading for anyone who has participated in Pink Ribbon events, or thought about them in any way. Part one and part two.

This October I chose to focus on learning more about Breast Cancer Awareness Month and the big players in the awareness movement.  I watched the film Pink Ribbons, Inc., I asked my mother if she wanted to share her story, and I read countless stories of others.  I reflected on the life of my grandmother and the way she chose to live after she was diagnosed.  What I came away with is that the mainstream breast cancer movement is a sham.  It makes me feel sick to my stomach, exploited, belittled, and dismissed; like my story, and the stories of the people I love do not matter.

Here are some excellent, angry thoughts on living on state handouts in the UK and people who think it’s easy – obviously, Australia has a different welfare system, but the worldview about welfare is still largely the same.

And finally, some historical goodies: a thought-provoking post by my close friend Futurus Essay on the term ‘herstory‘, a feminist retelling of the Ariadne myth, and a critique of gods and rape in Greeco-Roman mythology and their parallels to things conservative senators in the US have recently made.
I hope you enjoy these as much as I did!

4 thoughts on “Exams and Linkspams

  1. Hi Jo,
    I enjoyed the links (read most of them) and agreed with all except Mr Darcy. Well, it’s complicated. I agree with the theory and hate those men (real and novel characters) who treat women like shit and expect them to fall in love… and find that I cannot read those books because they piss me off.
    But I disagree with the blogger that Mr Darcy was like that. So he was a proud arsehole at the beginning of the book (probably an introvert). He didn’t like Elizabeth or her family (understandable at). She didn’t like him either. Then he saw her good qualities and beauty and asked her to marry him in the stupidest manner. She raked him down. He learned something. She then got a chance to see his good qualities and then he had a chance to do something good for her. She learns of this. Happy ending.
    I think the difference between the general a-holes in chick-lit and Mr Darcy is that they don’t learn anything and the women become blinded by the fairy tale.

  2. I agree with Delilah – Darcy doesn’t actually fit the “Darcy Effect”. It’s interesting to me how many people can read P&P and not notice!

  3. OH! Thanks for linking me Jo! I haven’t had a chance to go through them all yet, but this looks like an awesome way for me to procrastinate this week…. ;)

    Hey Delilah, your thoughts are interesting, but the post isn’t really about P&P. Darcy is a metaphor for the way we, as a culture, change and alter romantic understandings to support patriarchy. That’s why I didn’t use him as an example. (there’s quite a long discussion of it in the comments, if you’re interested.) :) That said, I’m not much of a Darcy fan, I think Mr Tilney makes a much better romantic hero!

Leave a Reply

