Cake and Crania

A bit of a non-serious post today. I’m feeling slightly intellectually overloaded from my summer human evolution course, trying to get my head around evolutionary sequences and how ambiguous it really all is. So I thought I’d share two pictures and a recipe for nectarine cake, which I made this afternoon off the top of my head. (So good!)

My human evolution course is coming along nicely. This cranium I’m holding (well, cast actually) is a Cro Magnon cranium, which is a very early form of modern human species H. sapiens sapiens. It’s very cool. I can now tell you where the sagittal crest is, for example.

Jo’s recipe for Nectarine Upside-Down Cake

125g butter

3/4 cup brown sugar (or less if you want)

1 egg

2 tsp baking powder

2 cups flour

2tsp cinnamon (or something like that)

1 cup milk (or half milk/half water if your housemates only left half a cup of milk in the fridge)

About 5 nectarines

Follow usual cake procedure: beat butter and sugar, add egg, then flour, milk, cinnamon and baking powder. Slice the nectarines and place them in a pretty pattern at the bottom of a buttered cake tin. Then pour the cake mixture over the top and bake at 180 degrees for fifteen-20 minutes. Leave to cool and then flip over so that the pretty pattern in on top. Enjoy munching on the finished cake for the next two days!

My result 🙂

One thought on “Cake and Crania

Leave a Reply

