Beautiful Blogger Award

award_beautiful

A few weeks ago (I know, it’s taken me ages to get around to this!) I was given a Beautiful Blogger Award! I feel very honoured indeed. I haven’t received any awards before, and didn’t really know that they existed. Part of getting the award is also passing it on, so to speak, and sharing the love with other bloggers whose work you really appreciate. It’s a lovely idea.

There are things one must do when getting this award! It is exciting.

Identify and show appreciation of the blogger who awarded you:

Big thanks to scientificfemanomaly! They write some really awesome stuff about science and sexism, of which I haven’t read much, but am now definitely going to! It makes it all the nicer to be nominated by someone you don’t already know well. I really appreciate the award, it makes me feel all warm and fuzzy. 🙂

Add the award logo to your blog.

Done! Pretty logo it is too.

Tell your readers seven things about yourself:

Seven random things? Um, ok, here goes.

1. I had really long hair, down to my hips, all throughout school. Then I chopped it all off to my earlobes just before I started my final high school exams, because it seemed like the thing to do. I’ve had it short since, and people who I met at uni always think it’s strange to think of me with really long hair.

2. I’ve now been a conscious feminist for a year and a half.

3. I find it really hard to live in the present sometimes, I am constantly putting lots of energy into thinking about the future and all the plans I have and the things I am excited about that will happen some day. It keeps me really motivated, but sometimes I have to remind myself to enjoy the present, too.

4. I’d like to be a Professor one day. It’s one of my dreams.

5. When I go to the beach, I like running into the waves until I trip myself. And then I love running out of the water and diving into the sand and rolling around in it. Other people often find this amusing.

6. I will never be a proper city person. I feel really connected to the natural world, so I need trees and water and open space around me.

7. I often get ridiculously high on life and have so much love for people that it feels like I’m bursting with it. Sometimes I don’t know what to do with all that love and then I get really sad afterwards.

Nominate 5-10 other bloggers you regularly read for this award:

Zero at the Bone

Zero at the Bone (written by the amazing Chally) was one of the first blogs I started reading, and it really shaped my learning about feminism. I love everything she has to say, especially her posts on race and her adorable guinea pigs. She’s also one of the only Australian feminist bloggers I’ve met in real life and have gotten to be good friends with.

Can Be Bitter

I really love this blog’s posts on pop culture – they’re feminist, insightful and don’t buy into that silly idea that you should just shut up and enjoy something instead of critiquing it! I really enjoy reading it, even if I don’t know half the TV shows mentioned!

The Asexual Agenda

I don’t know if I’m allowed to nominate group blogs, but The Asexual Agenda has really stepped up into that space that’s beyond Asexuality 101 questions. There are some really interesting posts and topics discussed over there, and I really appreciate it as a resource and community space.

Unladylike Musings

So Unladylike Musings was also nominated by the same blogger who nominated me, but I think she really deserves the award, so I’m going to nominate her again just to spread the word. Every post she puts up is brilliant and thoughtful, and her blog has become a bit of a resource for me whenever I need to make sense of something.

Confessions of an Ist

One of the first blogs that I found (and devoured) about asexuality. Aydan writes for The Asexual Agenda now too, but I love her own posts on asexuality and sexism, and on environmentalism and consumerism. Aydan was also the first person ever to link to one of my  posts, I think, so that’s extra cool.

Notify your nominees!

Shall do!

2 thoughts on “Beautiful Blogger Award

  1. ❤ thank you! I'm hoping to reciprocate after Christmas, so I can point my readers in the direction of some fine holiday reading while I sit back and drink wine!

Leave a Reply

