A Month of Cranky Ladies

March is Women’s History Month, which is probably my favourite month of the year because women and history are one of my particular academic interests. his year, March has also been the month of Fablecroft’s Cranky Ladies of History crowdfunding campaign, which I also have a vested interest in – not just because women in history are the best, but because I’m under consideration for inclusion in the anthology.

Cranky Ladies of History is a planned anthology of short stories all about, well, cranky ladies in history. ‘Cranky’ is defined broadly – I’m sure some of the women who will be included were actually quite cranky, but more generally, the anthology focuses on women who defy societal standards and expectations to achieve something cool. There was an open call for pitches last year, so I submitted a pitch for a short story on Dido of Carthage, as told her her sister, Anna, shortly after her death. I’m currently shortlisted, so to speak, so now I have to actually put this plan into action. Anyway, to help fund the anthology its creators decided to run a Pozible campaign, which has been hugely successful! It’s open until the end of the day, and you can still contribute. (Also, the page has my name listed alongside that of one of my favourite authors, Juliet Marillier, which is, um, amazing and intimidating at the same time.)

Part of the campaign has been a blog tour about all sorts of awesome women in history. Unfortunately, I haven’t had the chance to do much blogging this month, due to uni starting up and family things and other associated issues. But I’ve actually written quite a few posts in the past about women in history – and often cranky ones too! So I thought I’d link to a couple of them here, in lieu of writing something completely new. (You can tell that I am a Roman historian. Heh.)

Classics and Feminism: thoughts on Virgil’s Dido – in which I talk about my own cranky lady, Dido of Carthage, and her portrayal in Virgil’s Aeneid (with some thoughts on feminist theory in ancient history thrown in for fun times!).

Mothers and Whores: Women in Ancient Rome – which looks at some notorious women of ancient Rome, including Fulvia, Livia, Agrippina and Faustina the Younger.

Patriarchy Past and Present: the case of Cicero’s Clodia – this one examines some of the rhetoric against Clodia Metelli, probably one of the most notorious women of the Roman Republic.

Women of Antiquity: how much can we really know? – talking about some of the ancient evidence that we have for everyday women’s lives in Roman society.

Make sure you check out all the other posts submitted for the blog tour here!

Leave a Reply

