A Masterlist of Writing on Asexuality

I’ve been looking back at some of the things I’ve posted on this blog about asexuality over the last week, and I’ve realised that there’s actually a lot more there than I thought there was. Which feels pretty good, to be honest, because over the past year I’ve not exactly felt the most confident in my asexuality-writing endeavours. This is possibly a side-effect of being an Honours student, and spending every bit of my reading and writing energy on my thesis. And probably some other things as well.

But, the thesis is now done and dusted, and seeing as I’m trying to tidy up the blog a bit, I thought I’d make a masterlist of all the things I’ve written over the past four years. Eventually I want to include this on the asexuality resource page I’m working on (just for this blog, nothing fancy). In the meantime, I thought I’d post it here as a reference for anyone who might be interested.

 

On Asexuality, Relationships, and Living as Asexual

On discovering asexuality

The Pressure to be Attractive (an experiment)

Rethinking Virginity

On the rhetoric of ‘Womanhood’ and asexuality

On Doubt as a part of my asexual experience

On different experiences of love, and how they are valued

On Labels, and how not needing them is a privilege

On Dating

On Defining Intimacy

On Asexuality and Living Arrangements

On Defining Significant Others

On being aromantic and in a relationship

Some thoughts on relationships, commitment and asexuality

On the equation of naked bodies with sexuality

On asexuality and change

On feeling caught in between

On feeling doubly invisible, as asexual and non-straight

On Being Assailable Too

On being asexual and feeling apart, even in sex-positive discourse

On navigating the future as asexual

Things I Wish I’d Known About Being an Aromantic Ace in a Relationship

On coming out as asexual at work (or not)

 

Asexuality and Popular Culture

The Eleventh Doctor as Asexual (Doctor Who)

Finding Asexual Characters (various media)

On taking Sheldon and Amy’s relationship seriously (The Big Bang Theory)

On the documentary ’40-Year-Old Virgins’

Why are Korra and Asami in a Romantic Relationship? (The Legend of Korra)

 

Asexuality and Feminism

Being an Ace Feminist

On Sex Positivity, Compulsory Sexuality, and Intersecting Identities

Being an Ally to Asexual People (A Guide)

 

Responses to Media on Asexuality

Why Asexual is a Label I Need: An Open Letter to Matty Silver

An Open Letter to Matty Silver: Response

 

Posts written for The Asexual Agenda

Graphing the Relationship between Physical and Emotional Closeness

So You Want to Talk to the Media: Some tips and things to think about

Workshop Recap on Asexuality and Relationships

On Fixed and Fluid Identities (from an ace perspective)

What it Means to be Ace: Building community on shared experience

(Un)detachable Sexualities: a hypothesis

Taking a Step Back: why not moving forwards doesn’t mean a relationship is failing

Some Different Perspectives on Asexual Experience: The Asexual Lives Project

Asexuality and the Relationship Escalator

 


3 thoughts on “A Masterlist of Writing on Asexuality

Leave a comment